Masonic pin photo

Phoenicia 58 Banner



The Most Worshipful Grand Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons of Arizona, met in the Masonic Center in Scottsdale, Az to constitute Phoenicia Lodge No. 58 and to install the elected officers appointed to serve for the year 1960.
Click Here to Learn More About the History of Lodge 58


Most Worshipful Brother Earl A. Spitler, Grand Master of Arizona convened the meeting. Very Worshipful Brother Joseph A. E. Ivey, Grand Secretary, read the Charter, which was delivered to the lodge.  Most Worshipful Brother Spitler then proceeded to install the officers, above named, in their respective stations and places. There were seven Past Grand Masters present.  Most worshipful Brothers, Joseph A. E. Ivey, Louis A. Myers, Nelson T. Roach, Arnold E. Schaffner, Earl A. Spitler, C. B. Wilson and Leland D. Wilson, and twenty-six Masters and Past Masters present various Lodges within the Valley.  Following the presentation of the Charter, a very pleasant Masonic Social Hour was held in the dining room. The attendance numbered approximately one hundred and fifty of our Masonic Brethren.

In 2004, Phoenicia Lodge moved from its home since 1959 at Scottsdale Masonic Center, to its current home at the Paradise Valley Masonic Center.  With a future plan of having it's own Masonic Center.



William H. Peotter     Worshipful Master

Carl D. Lang               Senior Warden

Harry C. DeShong      Junior Warden

Marvin Strickland           Treasure

John E. Williams             Secretary

Robert L. Anglin              Chaplain

David R. Douglass           Senior Deacon

Augustine G. DiPaola      Junior Deacon

Perry Wheat Jr.                 Senior Steward

Herbert M. Martin            Junior Steward

Theodore J. Michalakes       Marshall

Charley L. Chamberlain       Tyler


Charter Members

Robert L. Anglin             Harold S. Lee

Darwin H. Aycock          Roy L. Lockwood

George Barr                    Herbert M. Martin

John Bathnoy                  Howard Martin Jr.

Leonard H. Borgen         Albert J. Martinello

Harry C. Braniger           Arle D. Mecey

James S. Bunch               Theodore J. Michalakes

Tommie D. Cardwell          Alvin Lee Morrow

Charley L. Chamberlain         Raymond A. McElhinney

Harold C. Corlett             Jerry Nemecek

Harry C. DeShong           Norman H. Peiffer

Augustine G. DiPaola      William H. Peotter

David R. Douglass           Donald R. Robertson

Alford J. Enfield              Charles Romeo

Benjamin H. Fisk             Raymond R. Scheidt

Gay A. Garrett                 Clinton J. Schooley

Herbert E. Grieser            Francis Scoplitte

Leland L. Heaton             Marvin Strickland

Ernest O. Hinds                George E. Styre Jr.

Elmer W. Holsinger         Marvin M. Tingley

John C. Houck                  Perry Wheat Jr.

LeRoy S. Jones                 John E. Williams

Carl D. Lang                     Eugene C. Yount